Four members of the Iowa men's basketball team were selected to the All-Big Ten teams this evening. Senior Jarrod Uthoff was a unanimous first-team selection. Iowa's first in a long, long time.

Brian Ray/

A Cedar Rapids native, Jarrod Uthoff was a unanimous first-team selection by both the media and coaches. He's the first Iowa player to be a unanimous first-team selection since Andre Woolridge. The Hawkeye point guard achieved the accolade in 1997. The coaches also named Uthoff to the five-player All-Defensive team.

Uthoff is second in the Big Ten in scoring this season with nearly 19 points per game. He leads the conference in blocks and is tied for 10th in rebounding. He's also 20th all-time on the career scoring list at Iowa with 1,238 points. Only Uthoff and former Duke Blue Devil Shane Battier have averaged two blocks and two 3-pointers per game for a season the last two decades. Uthoff this season, while Battier did it in both 1999-00 and 2000-01.

Jarrod's selection to the first team makes three straight seasons that Iowa has had a player selected to the first team. Aaron White received the honor last year and Devyn Marble two seasons ago. That back-to-back-to-back hasn't happened for Iowa basketball since 1946-48. During the span, Herb Wilkinson was named first-team in 1946 and 1947, and Murray Wier in 1948.

Uthoff was joined on the all-Big Ten first team (both coaches and media) by Michigan State's Denzel Valentine, Indiana's Yogi Ferrell, Purdue's A.J. Hammons, and Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes.

What a season it's been for Jarrod Uthoff. Not only has he had an incredible season on the court, last week he was named the Academic All-American of the Year for Division I men's basketball. Another Cedar Rapidian to be proud of!

Brian Ray/

Peter Jok was named to the second-team, by both coaches and the media. Peter more than doubled his scoring output from a year ago, averaging 15.8 this season. He's definitely one of Iowa's go-to guys and, like Uthoff, the guy can shoot the lights out. He also enters Big Ten Tourney play this week having hit 21 consecutive free throws. I sure hope I didn't jinx him there.

Brian Ray/

Hawkeye senior point guard Mike Gesell was an honorable mention selection by the media. Iowa Basketball also presented him with the Sportsmanship Award for a third straight year. Hard to argue with that choice ever. Always the competitor, he always seems to be a kind one. Mike needs just seven assists to break Iowa's single-season record set by Andre Woolridge in 1996. The record is 193. Only Gesell and former Hawks Dean Oliver and Jeff Horner have had more than 1,000 points, 525 assists, and 150 steals in their careers. Thankfully, Mike's isn't over yet.

Brian Ray/

Fellow senior Adam Woodbury was also named honorable mention by the media contingent. Adam has seven double-doubles (at least 10 points and 10 rebounds in the same game) this season and averaged 10.0 rebounds in Big Ten play. It's the first time in 14 seasons a Hawkeye has averaged double figures in rebounding in conference play. The last to do it was a rebounding warrior, Reggie Evans. Adam's career includes over 800 points, 725 rebounds, and 100 assists.

Iowa is going to miss this group of seniors, no doubt about it. What a four-year ride it's been with Mike Gesell, Adam Woodbury, and Anthony Clemmons. I wish Iowa could've had Jarrod Uthoff for four seasons, but the three he's spent in an Iowa uniform have been amazing to watch. Soon, their accomplishments will be part of Hawkeye lore, but not quite yet. There's still two tourneys to play and here's hoping Iowa goes a long, long way in both.

[via Hawkeye Sports Information]