If you get a message saying not to add a specific person on Facebook, just ignore it and go on with your day.

In the past two weeks or so, I've probably received about 30 Facebook messages warning me about Jayden K. Smith and Anwar Jitou, two supposed "hackers" who are out to hack all my Facebook friends and me. The messages were staring to annoy me a little bit, because it's such an obvious hoax, but then yesterday evening I received EIGHT more of them. Now I know that the hoax isn't as obvious to others.

"Please tell all the contacts in your messenger list not to accept Jayden K. Smith friendship request. He is a hacker and has the system connected to your Facebook account. If one of your contacts accepts it, you will also be hacked, so make sure that all your friends know it. Thanks. Forwarded as received. Hold your finger down on the message. At the bottom in the middle it will say forward. Hit that then click on the names of those in your list and it will send to them"

If this message looks familiar to you, you are the victim of yet another Facebook hoax that has been going on for YEARS. Sometimes the names change (Anwar Jitou is another one I've been seeing), but the message is always the same: "DON'T ADD THIS RANDOM PERSON."

First of all, you probably shouldn't be adding total strangers on your Facebook. That's just good sense. Secondly, even if these people were out there trying to add you, they can't hack you simply by adding you as a friend. Hoax-Slayer reports:

"Even the most clever hacker will not be able to take control of your computer just by being added to your Facebook friends list. For a hacking attempt to work, some sort of file transfer or exchange of information must take place or the victim must take some sort of action such as installing malware."

If somebody sends you some sort of suspicious link or tries to scam you out of your information, then that's a different situation and a big red flag. I was sent a message yesterday with no explanation, but it was supposedly a video of me from some obscure website. That person was obviously hacked, so I did not click the link. Those are the real threats you need to look out for, because that clicking a strange link could actually give you a computer virus. But these, "don't add [insert name here] because they will automatically get all your computer information and ruin your life!" messages really need to stop. Let's end the cycle.